Skip to main content

YouTube Introduces Video Editing Feature

 

Effects

Some YouTube users may be noticing that they can now edit their videos onsite thanks to a new feature that’s rolling out globally Wednesday.

Using the feature will enable you to edit uploaded YouTube videos while also maintaining the same video IDs, making it possible to hold onto view counts and comments. Existing links to the video will also continue to work. All you have to do is click “Edit Video” on your video’s page or on the My Videos page.

While the editing feature isn’t necessarily meant to replace software like Final Cut Pro, it is meant to help users fix their videos in a less time consuming manner.

“We noticed that a lot of people were uploading videos to YouTube that we can say are somewhat unpolished,” says Jason Toff, product manager at YouTube, adding that rougher amateur footage tends to be a lot more common than professionally edited work on the site.

A blog post from YouTube Software Engineer John Gregg outlines some of the editing options now available. If you have access to the editing feature, you can stabilize hand-held footage, rotate videos and boost the colors and contrast. The “I’m Feeling Lucky” feature will allow for one-click color correction.

YouTube’s team also collaborated with Picnik to provide new aesthetic effects. This makes it possible for you to add filters — such as black and white, lomo-ish and cartoon — to your videos. (Google acquired Picnik last year.)

YouTube Editing Effects

Toff says there’s even an option to swap out your audio for something else by choosing from a number of available tracks. And if you have a video with too much footage at the beginning or end, you’ll be able to trim some of that out as well.

All you have to do is click “save” to begin processing video edits. But in case you aren’t happy with the new product, it is possible to go back to the original version. There is also an option to click “save as” in case you’d rather have multiple versions of the video. However, as the blog post points out, popular videos with more than 1,000 views and videos with third-party content will only be saved as new videos once edited.

Check out the video below to find out more about how the new editing feature works. According to YouTube, the feature will continue rolling out to users throughout Wednesday.

More About: online video editing, Video, video editing, YouTube


YouTube Introduces Video Editing Feature
Radhika Marya
Wed, 14 Sep 2011 20:00:50 GMT

Popular posts from this blog

Apple will disconnect ‘obsolete’ first-gen Apple TV from iTunes in May

Apple has announced today it will drop iTunes support for some older devices from May 25. This includes the first generation Apple TV, and also any PC running Windows XP or Vista. The company is introducing new security changes which will prevent those devices from using the latest version of iTunes.
Apple says that the original Apple TV is an "obsolete Apple product" and will not be updated to support security changes. Only those with the second generation of Apple TV or later will be able to access the iTunes store.
Windows XP or Vista users won't be able to use the latest version of iTunes, but older Windows computers can still use previous versions without support from Apple. Those who do so, however, won't be able to make new purchases or re-download previous purchases on that computer. If you're on on XP or Vista, you'll need to upgrade to Windows 7 or later to continue using iTunes normally.
The writing was already on the wall for these devices: Wi…

BBM Desktop is now a thing for Android BBM beta users!

With BlackBerry Blend having met an arguably early demise, folks looking to use BBM on their desktop have been out of luck. That might soon change, though, as the latest BBM beta release for Android has a BBM Desktop mode.

With BlackBerry Blend having met an arguably early demise, folks looking to use BBM on their desktop have been out of luck with no desktop application available. That will soon be changing, though, as the latest BBM beta release for Android has introduced a new way to bring BBM to your desktop.
Read More »

https://crackberry.com/bbm-desktop-now-thing-bbm-beta-users

Windows 10: Microsoft retires HomeGroup

Microsoft plans to remove the HomeGroup functionality from its Windows 10 operating system. The company made the first step towards that goal in the most recent Insider Preview version of Windows 10 as it disabled it in that build.
In "a note about HomeGroup" in the release announcement of the Windows 10 Insider Build, Microsoft confirms that HomeGroup will be retired.
The company introduced HomeGroup in Windows 7 as a new option for home users to access printers, files, and media in home networks. The core idea was to assign all devices to a single HomeGroup to share access to files and printers between all devices.
It is unclear how popular the feature was and is. It is clear however that it was never the only option that Windows users had in this regard, and it was not the best either for certain use cases. You could not add Mac OS X or Linux devices to a HomeGroup for instance.
The end of HomeGroup
Easily connecting to and sharing the important pieces of your digi…