Skip to main content

HSPA, UMTS, GSM, LTE and Other Acronyms Demystified


If you’re a consumer who wants to be informed before buying a new mobile device, you likely do a great deal of research before buying a smartphone. However, as you begin to research smartphone choices, you start to get inundated with acronyms such as LTE, HSPA, GSM®, EDGE®, and so on. Instead of just nodding along with the smartphone rep the way you do when your crazy uncle corners you at the family reunion, let’s demystify a few of these popular acronyms to ensure you make intelligent buying decisions:

CDMA: Code Division Multiple Access. CDMA is one of the 3G standards created by Qualcomm®. You can currently find CDMA networks in the U.S. Canada, Mexico, New Zealand, China, Taiwan, a handful of other countries. The standard for CDMA is Evolution-Data Optimized (EV-DO) and it is a 3rd Generation (also known as “3G”) technology.

EDGE: Enhanced Data (rates for) GSM Evolution. EDGE is an upgrade to 2nd Generation (2G or 2.5G) GSM software upgrade allowing for data transfer and web browsing at near 3G speeds.

GSM: Global System for Mobile. GSM is an alternate to CDMA and comes in two standards: EDGE, which is a 2nd Generation (2G or 2.5G) and UMTS/HSDPA, which is a 3rd Generation (3G) technology. As the name implies, GSM is more of a global standard than CDMA and the 3G technology used by most carriers around the world.

HSPA: High Speed Packet Access. The HSPA family of technologies is quite large, covering High Speed Downlink Packet Access (HSDPA), High Speed Uplink Packet Access (HSUPA), and Evolved High Speed Packet Access (HSPA+). There are others, but these are the big ones. HSDPA is a 3rd Generation (3G) technology based on GSM standards offering faster data download speeds at the cost of upload speeds. I’ll bet you can guess what HSUPA is…yup, the exact opposite. Read on for HSPA+.

HSPA+: Evolved High Speed Packet Access. HSPA+ works like a turbo boost for UMTS/HSDPA devices that help them reach 4th Generation (4G) technology speeds. On your BlackBerry smartphone, this is denoted by an H+ symbol.

LTE™: Long-Term Evolution. Together with 802.16e mobile and High Capacity Spatial Division Multiple Access (HC-SDMA), LTE comprises the family of 4th Generation (4G) cellular wireless technologies. 4G networks claim a speed up to 1 Gigabyte per second (1Gbps) and are quickly gaining popularity. Full deployment in the U.S. by Verizon and AT&T® and in Canada are expected within the next couple of years.

UMTS®: Universal Mobile Telecommunications System. UMTS is a 3rd Generation (3G) GSM technology. As the name implies, it is a more universal (global) form of HSPDA or EDGE. However, changing over to UMTS from another technology requires new cellular base towers as opposed to technologies like EDGE, which do not.

These are some of the more common cellular technology acronyms you likely see on a regular basis. When choosing a BlackBerry smartphone that works with your carrier’s network, the general rule is that BlackBerry® Bold™ smartphones work with CDMA, GSM, HSPA+ and UMTS networks. BlackBerry® Curve™ and BlackBerry® Torch™ smartphones work with GSM and UMTS networks. However, be sure to verify any network with your carrier prior to purchase.

HSPA, UMTS, GSM, LTE and Other Acronyms Demystified
Donny H.
Tue, 21 Aug 2012 18:13:40 GMT

Popular posts from this blog

Apple Launches Web Tool to Deregister Phone Numbers from iMessage

Apple today released a new web tool for users to deregister their phone number from iMessage in the event they switched to a non-Apple device. To deregister a phone number from iMessage, users simply enter their phone number in Apple's web tool, receive a free text message containing a code, and submit the code to complete the process. Users who still have their original iPhone can also transfer their SIM card back to the device and go to Settings -> Messages to turn iMessage off. 

Users switching from an iPhone to another device were often unable to receive SMS messages from another iPhone due to their phone number still being linked to iMessage. These specific errors with iMessage have been a well-known issue since 2011, which is when the messaging service debuted with iOS 5. They were also made even more apparent this past May, where a server glitch caused widespread message delivery problems. Apple was even sued over the matter in a California court, although the company cla…

Microsoft acquires iPhone email app Acompli

After accidentally announcing it a little early, Microsoft is officially confirming it has acquired email startup Acompli. The surprise acquisition means Microsoft is picking up a powerful email client for iPhone and Android in another move that further cements CEO Satya Nadella’s focus on cross-platform technologies. The Verge’s Casey Newton called Acompl "the Outlook for iPhone that Microsoft hasn’t yet built," and it seems Microsoft was equally impressed with the powerhouse email app. "We’re excited about what’s possible as we build on the app’s success and bring it together with work currently in progress by the Outlook team," the company said in a statement. "Our goal is to deliver fantastic cross-platform apps that support the variety of email services people use today and help them accomplish more." Recode first reportedthat Microsoft would make its latest acquisition official today; the company is said to be paying over $200 million for Acompli. A…

Apple will disconnect ‘obsolete’ first-gen Apple TV from iTunes in May

Apple has announced today it will drop iTunes support for some older devices from May 25. This includes the first generation Apple TV, and also any PC running Windows XP or Vista. The company is introducing new security changes which will prevent those devices from using the latest version of iTunes.
Apple says that the original Apple TV is an "obsolete Apple product" and will not be updated to support security changes. Only those with the second generation of Apple TV or later will be able to access the iTunes store.
Windows XP or Vista users won't be able to use the latest version of iTunes, but older Windows computers can still use previous versions without support from Apple. Those who do so, however, won't be able to make new purchases or re-download previous purchases on that computer. If you're on on XP or Vista, you'll need to upgrade to Windows 7 or later to continue using iTunes normally.
The writing was already on the wall for these devices: Wi…