Facebook to activate Timeline Profiles for all users in Autumn
Timeline profiles became available on Facebook at the end of the year 2011 as an optional feature that Facebook users had to actively enable. The change shocked many users of the social networking site, but since no one was forced to switch to the new profile, the outcry quickly died off again, especially since a forced switch to the new profile never happened. Users of Facebook who switched to the new profile on the other hand had to face the fact that they could never go back to the old profile that the majority of users on Facebook were still using. We explained how to avoid Facebook Timeline profiles back in January, but the solutions back then were only temporary, and the only viable option right now is to install userscripts or browser extensions that modify the Timeline profile locally so that you do not see it in your browser (whereas everyone else sees the Timeline profile). It may come as a shock to everyone who is still using the old Facebook profile that the comp...